Logo graphic for the Coastal Resources Division
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
In recognition that fish do not adhere to political boundaries, the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) was formed.  The ASMFC is a partnership of the 15 Atlantic coastal coordinating the conservation and management of shared near shore fishery resources.


Member states are Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida. Each has three representatives: the director for the state’s marine fisheries management agency, a state legislator, and an individual appointed by the governor. The representatives participate in the deliberations in the Commission’s five main policy arenas: Interstate fisheries management, research and statistics, fisheries science, habitat conservation, and law enforcement. The one-state one-vote concept allows Commissioners to address stakeholder-resource balance issues at the state level.

The Commission focuses on responsible stewardship of marine fisheries resources. It serves as a forum for the states to collectively address fisheries issues under the premise that as a group, using a cooperative approach, they can achieve more than they could as individuals. The Commission does not promote a particular state or a particular stakeholder sector.