Coastal Advisory Council

In 1992, the Governor of Georgia appointed a two-year, 25-member Coastal Zone Advisory Committee, representing a diverse cross-section of the coastal Georgia citizenry, to provide public input throughout the development of the Georgia Coastal Management Program.  A new Coastal Advisory Committee was appointed in 1994 by the Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources to review the draft Program Document, to assist with public education throughout the program development process, and to provide technical assistance.  In 1997, the committee was expanded to increase participation from interested local governments.

In 2003, the Committee was revamped and re-authorized by the Commissioner of DNR as the Coastal Advisory Council (CAC) with a set of by-laws and an appointed membership.  The CAC is charged with developing annual themes and ranking criteria for the Coastal Incentive Grant Program, and providing a communication loop between the Coastal Management Program and coastal citizens.

Click here to view the May 2015 amended and adopted CAC By-laws.

Click one of the links below to access the associated CAC meeting summary:

Click one of the links below to access CAC Letters:

The following is a list of Coastal Advisory Council Members and their respective affiliation.

  • Local Government Representatives include;
    • Donald Harrelson (City of Woodbine)
    • John Hunter (City of Brunswick)
    • Shawn Jordan (McIntosh County)
    • Clay Montague (Camden County)
    • Walter Parker (City of Bloomingdale)
    • Paul Wolff (City of Tybee Island)
    • Jody Mingledorff (City of Screven)
  • Regional and State Representatives include;
    • Allen Burns (Coastal Regional Commission)
    • Ben Carswell (Jekyll Island Authority)
    • Sherry Davidson (Southern Georgia Regional Commission)
    • Brett Manning (Heart of Georgia-Altamaha Regional Commission)
    • Mark McClellan (Georgia Forestry Commission)
  • Environmental Organization Representatives include;
    • Stacia Hendricks (Little St. Simons Island)
    • Christi Lambert (The Nature Conservancy)
    • Russ Marane (Land Trust Alliance)
    • Charles McMillan (Georgia Conservancy)
    • Ashby Worley (The Nature Conservancy)
  • Research/Academia Representatives include;
    • Chester Jackson (Georgia Southern University)
    • Tate Holbrook (College of Coastal Georgia)
    • Katy Smith (University of Georgia Marine Extension)
    • Steve Vives (Georgia Southern University)
  • Citizen-at-Large Representatives include;
    • Alton Brown
    • Eugene Keferl 
    • Dorset Hurley
    • Larry Miles
    • Charlie Phillips
    • Joe Slaughter
    • Buddy Sullivan